CCW Training – Missouri Reciprocity

Reciprocity is a legal term describing the agreement between states to honor your CCW permit.  Missouri’s permit is one of the most widely accepted permits in the country.  It’s important to remember that each state has its own laws, and you are required to follow the laws of that state.  For example, in Missouri a “no guns allowed” sign does not carry a legal penalty if violated, while the state of Kansas considers violating such a sign a felony.

This list is taken from the Missouri Attorney General’s website at on May 5, 2014 and is accurate as of that date.  Please be sure to check the site for the most recent information before accepting this as truth.

Reciprocity is an ever changing factor of where you can carry a concealed firearm with your license.  There are many excellent websites available to help you avoid breaking the law.  One of my favorites is an interactive map at USA Carry.  It is an even better idea to check with the state you will be travelling with to be sure they honor the MO permit.

Concealed carry reciprocity with Missouri

States honoring a Missouri endorsement to carry a concealed weapon

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

States NOT honoring a Missouri endorsement to carry a concealed weapon

  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Virginia