CCW Training – Missouri Requirements

Concealed Carry in Missouri is covered by MO Statute 571.

According to the statute you must be 19 years or older and a resident of Missouri (or a member of the military or spouse of a member of the military stationed in Missouri).  You must also be in good standing with the law as described in the quoted section at the bottom of this page.

You must attend a class that is 8 hours long and covers the ten key points specified in the law including a live fire exercise and test from either a semi-automatic pistol or a revolver.

The class must cover:

  • Basic Pistol Safety
  • How to safely load and unload a semi-automatic pistol and a revolver with student demonstration of these skills
  • Proper care and cleaning of a pistol and revolver
  • Basic Pistol Marksmanship
  • Safe Storage of a firearm in the home
  • Missouri requirments for obtaining a Concealed Carry License per statute 571
  • Missouri laws regarding firearms per statute 571
  • Missouri law on the use of justifiable force as laid out in statute 563

In addition, the student must fire 20 rounds from either a semi-automatic pistol or a revolver followed by a test of 20 rounds into a standard silhoutte target from 7 yards.  During the test, fifteen rounds must hit the silhouette portion of the target.

-From MO Statute 571-111

“A certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement issued pursuant to subsection 7 of this section shall be issued by the sheriff or his or her designee of the county or city in which the applicant resides, if the applicant:

(1) Is at least nineteen years of age, is a citizen of the United States and either:

(a) Has assumed residency in this state; or

(b) Is a member of the armed forces stationed in Missouri, or the spouse of such member of the military;

(2) Has not pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere or been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state or of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of one year or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer or gas gun;

(3) Has not been convicted of, pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere to one or more misdemeanor offenses involving crimes of violence within a five-year period immediately preceding application for a certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement or if the applicant has not been convicted of two or more misdemeanor offenses involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs or the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within a five-year period immediately preceding application for a certificate of qualification for a concealed carry endorsement;

(4) Is not a fugitive from justice or currently charged in an information or indictment with the commission of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year under the laws of any state of the United States other than a crime classified as a misdemeanor under the laws of any state and punishable by a term of imprisonment of two years or less that does not involve an explosive weapon, firearm, firearm silencer, or gas gun;

(5) Has not been discharged under dishonorable conditions from the United States armed forces;

(6) Has not engaged in a pattern of behavior, documented in public records, that causes the sheriff to have a reasonable belief that the applicant presents a danger to himself or others;

(7) Is not adjudged mentally incompetent at the time of application or for five years prior to application, or has not been committed to a mental health facility, as defined in section 632.005, or a similar institution located in another state following a hearing at which the defendant was represented by counsel or a representative;

(8) Submits a completed application for a certificate of qualification as described in subsection 3 of this section;

(9) Submits an affidavit attesting that the applicant complies with the concealed carry safety training requirement pursuant to subsections 1 and 2 of section 571.111;

(10) Is not the respondent of a valid full order of protection which is still in effect.”